Swann a lively contender to be crowned Cricket of the Year


GRAEME SWANN is 9/4 with Ladbrokes to be named as Cricketer of the Year in tomorrow’s ICC Awards ceremony in Bangalore.

The England spinner leads the test bowling charts with 51 wickets in 2010, but finds himself up against Indian run machines, 7/4 joint favourites Virender Sehwag and Sachin Tendulkar, as well as South Africa’s Hashim Amla (6/1).

Sehwag is outright favourite to win Test Cricketer of the Year at 10/11, while Australian Shane Watson is 6/4 to win ODI Player of the Year. England’s Steve Finn is 2/1 to win Emerging Player of the Year, with Umar Akmal 4/6 favourite.

David Williams of Ladbrokes said, “Swann’s had a fantastic year, but it’s hard to look beyond the Indian batsmen.”

To win Cricketer of the Year
Tendulkar 7/4
Sehwag 7/4
Swann 9/4
Amla 6/1

To win Test Cricketer of the Year
Sehwag 10/11
Tendulkar 5/4
Steyn 6/1
Amla 12/1

To win ODI Cricketer of the Year
Watson 6/4
De Villiers 2/1
Tendulkar 3/1
R.Harris 4/1

Emerging Player of the Year
Akmal 4/6
Finn 2/1
Mathews 8/1
Paine 8/1