Ronaldo odds-on for Puskas Award after Juventus bicycle kick

Real Madrid striker Cristiano Ronaldo is odds-on to win a second FIFA Puskas Award after his sensational goal against Juventus last night.

The Portuguese hammered home an incredible bicycle kick to give Los Blancos a seemingly unassailable 3-0 lead in the contest.

That goal has led our traders to price him up as a 4/5 shot to claim the gong for the second time.

Alex Apati of Ladbrokes said: “We’ve seen some great strikes this year, but it’s hard to see anyone beating Ronaldo in terms of significance and sheer beauty.”

Ronaldo last won the award in 2009.

He was presented with the accolade in its inaugural year after a magnificent 40-yard effort for Manchester United against Porto in the 2008-2009 Champions League quarter-finals.

Chelsea striker Olivier Giroud is the current holder of the gong for his scorpion kick effort against Crystal Palace while at Arsenal.

Previous Puskas Award Winners

2017 – Olivier Giroud (Arsenal v Crystal Palace)

2016 – Mohd Faiz Subri (Penang v Pahang)

2015 – Wendell Lira (Goianesia v Atletico Goianiense)

2014 – James Rodriguez (Colombia v Uruguay)

2013 – Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden v England)

2012 – Miroslav Stoch (Fenerbahce v Genclerbirligi)

2011 – Neymar (Santos v Flamengo)

2010 – Hamit Altintop (Turkey v Kazakhstan)

2009 – Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United v Porto)

All Odds and Markets correct as of date of publication