Home  »     »   Poll: Who should win Sports Personality of the Year 2015?

Poll: Who should win Sports Personality of the Year 2015?

| 01.12.2015

With eight world champions among the 12 sportsmen and women shortlisted for 2015’s Sports Personality of the Year, it’s fair to say the nominees are a pretty decent bunch.

Among the dozen are the last two winners of the accolade, as well as five others that have made the final without success in the past three years.

The victor this time round will be crowned in Belfast on December 20, with the public casting the deciding votes.

But we don’t want to wait three weeks for the verdict, so we are casting our own SPOTY poll ahead of the game.

Take a look at the list, analyse what they have achieved this year and tell us who you will be voting for.

Lizzie Armitstead

Won her third British National Road Race Championships despite an early crash as well as landing gold at the UCI World Road Championship and Road World Cup.

Lucy Bronze

Part of the England women’s team that reached the World Cup semi finals for the first time in their history and went on to bag third-place in Canada.

Jessica Ennis-Hill

Shot straight back into the thick of things after the birth of her son in July 2014 to defend her Heptathlon world title in Beijing this August.

Mo Farah

Smashed world records in both the indoor two-mile event at the Indoor Grand Prix and the half marathon as well as landing another long distance double at the World Championships.

Chris Froome

Recorded a second win in the Tour De France, as well as becoming the first Brit in 31 years to be crowned the Tour’s King of the Mountains and the first man since Eddy Merckx (1970) to hold both the yellow and polka dot jerseys.

Tyson Fury

Pulled off the ‘biggest heavyweight upset since Muhammad Ali beat Sonny Liston’ according to his trainer when defeating Wladimir Klitschko to end his nine-year reign in the division.

Lewis Hamilton

Dominated all before him to guide his Mercedes to a second straight Formula One world title at the expense of team-mate Nico Rosberg by winning 11 Grand Prix.

Andy Murray

A central part of the British team that defeated Belgium in Ghent to win the Davis Cup for the first time since 1936, winning all 11 of his matches in the process.

Adam Peaty

Became the first man to achieve the double of gold in both the 50m and 100m freestyle at the World Championships as well as helping Great Britain to a 4x100m title in Kazan.

Greg Rutherford

Added to his Olympic, European and Commonwealth long jump titles by beating his nearest rival by 17cm in Beijing to take World Championship gold.

Kevin Sinfield

Bowed out of an illustrious career in rugby league by captaining Leeds Rhinos to a treble success in the Super League, Challenge Cup and World Club Challenge.

Max Whitlock

Became the first man to win gold for Great Britain in the World Gymnastics Championships when denying team-mate Louis Smith by 0.01 points, as well as landing a silver medal in the floor discipline.

[poll id=”314″]

All Odds and Markets are correct as of the date of publishing.

Fancy a flutter? Sign up today to claim up to £50 in free bets.



Ben Stones

Ladbrokes News’ equine expert, Ben likes nothing more than studying the form to pick out a winner or two for our readers. A Journalism and Media Studies graduate from the University of Winchester, Ben has previously written for a number of football and racing blogs and websites, as well as contributing to the sports pages of his home-town newspaper.