Arsenal keeper’s blunder is bad, but not top-5 material

Arsenal fans have woken up to the chastening prospect of Champions League elimination from the group stage for the first time in 15 years, with fingers of blame being jutted towards second-choice goalkeeper David Ospina.

The Colombian stopper made an absolute hash of handling an in-swinging corner during the Gunners’ Group F home clash against Olympiacos, patting the ball down and letting it bounce over his line before batting it away in the vain hope his horrendous error wouldn’t be spotted.

Unfortunately for Ospina, the eagle-eyed additional assistant referee correctly flagged for a goal, which ultimately proved the difference on the night, as Arsenal slumped to successive European defeats.

With no points registered and a double against free-scoring Bayern Munich next on the agenda, Arsene Wenger’s hopes of rescuing a desperate start to Arsenal’s campaign and qualifying from the group are rated at 9/4, behind odds-on opponents Bayern and Olympiacos.

It’s harsh to blame the Gunners’ collective failings all on Ospina though, whose error, despite its bona fide clanger status, is still not an entrant into the top-five keeper howlers of all time compiled below.

Who could forget this catastrophically casual piece of footwork from then Aston Villa custodian Peter Enckelman, in a second-city derby no less

Staying with the theme of lazy footwork, legendary Italian stopper Gianluigi Buffon may have a World Cup among his stellar list of accolades, but this rather grainy footage proves the 37 year old may be mortal after all

This clip doesn’t reveal exactly who, or where, but this clueless keeper started his celebrations far too early. The nameless nitwit unwittingly lets the ball from a penalty he thought he’d saved eventually spin over the line while his back is turned gesticulating to his own fans

Massimo Taibi has to go down as one of Sir Alex Ferguson’s more dubious Manchester United selections over the years and this gift for Southampton’s Matt le Tissier shows why. The mistake is a minute or so into the footage

Among the many instructions a goalkeeping coach would relay to any budding stopper, the absolute no-no of showboating with the ball, let alone someway outside your penalty area, next to a deadly striker at World Cup finals, would have to be one. Rene Higuita was arguably un-coachable it would seem

All Odds and Markets are correct as of the date of publishing.

Fancy a flutter? Sign up today to claim up to £50 in free bets.